Update: Watchmen

Finished watching Watchmen the other day (see previous post) and I can’t explain it, but somehow I was a tad disappointed by the ending – it was clever, but not clever enough – a bit too obvious, even though somewhat controversial, yet somewhat overly optimistic, when put in perspective with the rest of the film.

Just watch the whole movie and you’ll see what I’m talking about – it’s still very much worth it.

(Disclaimer: following links contain trailers of said movies that contain graphic violence – follow the links at your own discretion)

Just that the ending, for me, is not the most beautiful part of cinematic history. These, in my heart, go to Seven, Audition and Tesis (although this is in hindsight an almost too obvious slap in the face) – Hopefully I can write something about them later on, but I find it funny, that when asked, Takashi Miike (the director of Audition), said that he made the movie to shock people – oh my, what execution. 🙂 Of course the alert reader will find a reoccurring theme in all of these… 🙂

Leave a Reply

